Like other states, they must be secured indoors but if they are outdoors, an enclosure of a locked pen or structure suitable for the prevention of the dog from escaping is mandatory. They also must wear a muzzle and restrained by a substantial leash or chain which is controlled by a responsible adult. There are many other rules for many other states. As stated before, this is a very scary situations to be in when you have to deal with a dangerous dog and a victim.
It is a very scary situation when you have been attacked and possibly injured or a dog bite by a dangerous dog. You need to quickly get representation as soon as possible. As you acquire legal help, accumulate more evidence to prove your case so that the dangerous dog can be stopped before it can do harm to anyone else. Each state does have its own dog bite laws so it is best to learn about what your rights are in any state in which you live.
Dog owners, too have rights so learning about what you can or can not do is very crucial. Usually the states have their own laws, some follow statutory laws that deal with Dog Bite Statutes. The Dog Bite Statute resolves the common law because they don’t require the victim to prove the dog owner was at fault for the injury. In other states, victims who are injured by a dog bite can recover monetary damages under both the common law and the state Dog Bite Statute.
If the choice of the canine is to be put in an outside kennel, the dog is to be muzzled and restrained by a substantial leash or chain and can be restrained by a responsible person. The owner must then register the potentially dangerous dog with the state and post a clearly-visible sign on their property that warns people of the dog’s presence. This sign has a designated symbol to show the canine has been registered. Maintaining liability insurance by the owner is of at least $15,000 for personal injuries inflicted by the dog or a $15,000 or more bond to be payed to any person injured by the canine.
If the state you live in is Minnesota and a person who is injured was acting peacefully in a proper place where the person may lawfully be, the owner is responsible for damages to the injured in the amount of the injury to the fullest extent of the law. The canine doesn’t have to be provoked what-so-ever. To define the term ‘owner’ includes any person harboring or keeping a dog in their possession. It is the owner who is primarily liable for any such injuries inflicted on the victim. Dog owners must register their dangerous dogs with local authorities and an annual registration fee up to $500 is also mandatory. All dangerous dogs have to wear a collar with a “dangerous dog” symbol designed by the state. They also must acquire a microchip under their skin.
For instance, in Georgia, the definition of a ‘dangerous dog’ is as follows: Without provocation, a dog that inflicts severe injury on a human that causes a result in death, broken bones, disfiguring lacerations with the requirement of multiple sutures or cosmetic surgery. If a dog aggressively bites, attacks or endangers the safety of any human, even after the dog was deemed to be ‘potentially dangerous’ and the owner was told to either secure the canine indoors or in an outdoor pen, fence or structure that prevents any threat to young children as well as escape of the animal.